Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives: Home

Collections

The collections in our digital archive present documents and artifacts illustrating the history of KCU and the history of osteopathic medicine.


KCU Photographic Collection: High-resolution renditions of photographs and mixed media artwork that captures the history of KCU from its founding as the Kansas City College of Osteopathy and Surgery in 1916 to the modern era.

Special Collections and Archival Material: Early osteopathic literature in the form of rare books, historic journals, pamphlets, artifacts, and ephemera.

Postcard Collection: Rare images from the history of KCU, its affiliated hospitals, and other osteopathic institutions throughout Missouri and the United States.

KCU Yearbook Collection: A searchable digital collection of KCU yearbooks through various incarnations, beginning as the Osteopath (1927-1934), and resuming as the Stethoscope (1952-1984, 1987-2005).

KCU Historical Overview: The history of KCU from its founding as the Kansas City College of Osteopathy and Surgery in 1916, through the first renovation of the Administration Building, and the return of the iconic clock tower to campus.

Military Collection: Features the first DO commissioned as a medical officer in the Armed Forces, Dr. Harry J. Walter (COM ’65), as well other KCU alumni who have served, including Dr. Edward Feldman’s (COM ’66) at the siege of Khe Sanh in Vietnam.

Hospitals Collection: Features hospitals the University operated or was affiliated with including Lakeside, University Hospital (now Century Towers), and the original Children’s Mercy Hospital, which is now KCU’s Administration Building.