Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Coronavirus (COVID-19): What You Need to Know: Research Resources

Coronavirus has made headlines across the world, and with cases popping up across the United States every day, medical professionals and students need to be prepared. This guide will serve as a starting point for resources on COVID-19

 Click here to visit our page on searching PubMed for information on COVID-19 and coronavirus

 Click here to visit our page on searching Ovid for information on COVID-19 and coronavirus


NLM has made a new resource available to increase the discoverability of NIH-supported research results. Check out the NIH Preprint Pilot Librarian Toolkit (left) and the NIH Preprint Pilot to learn more about preprints and how the NLM and NIH are making them accessible.

 

 

Check out the COVID-19 Portfolio, the NIH's comprehensive, expert-curated source for publications and preprints related to either COVID-19 or the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2.

Semantic Scholar

COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19)

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 44,000 scholarly articles, including over 29,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.

This dataset is intended to mobilize researchers to apply recent advances in natural language processing to generate new insights in support of the fight against this infectious disease. The corpus will be updated weekly as new research is published in peer-reviewed publications and archival services like bioRxiv, medRxiv, and others.

National Institutes of Health

National Institutes of Health

The National Institutes of Health has put together a page with a variety of resources on coronavirus. This is a curated collection of information and resources provided and maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 


National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease

When MERS emerged in 2012 and COVID-19 was identified in 2020, NIAID intramural and extramural scientists mobilized quickly to study the viruses, efforts which continue today. Key areas of investigation include basic research on their origins, how they cause disease, and developing animal study models, new treatments, and vaccines.

COVID-19 Primer

CADTH Resources

CADTH’s skilled Research Information Specialists have developed literature searching tools to facilitate their searching. These same tools are being shared with other Canadian and international librarians to help them conduct literature searches for topics related to COVID-19.

COVID-19 Evidence

COVID-19 Evidence

This is a freely available continuously updated database that functions to concentrate all available trial evidence on benefits and harms of interventions for SARS-CoV-2 infection in an easy-accessible manner. This is a living database, meaning it is constantly growing as research and information becomes available. Check back often to keep up with the latest EBM and interventions for COVID-19. 

LitCovid

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1642 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can read more at Chen et al. Nature (2020) and download their data here.

Nature Coronavirus Collection

To support urgent research to combat the ongoing outbreak of COVID-19, caused by the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2, the editorial teams at Nature Research have curated a collection of relevant articles. Our collection includes research into the basic biology of coronavirus infection, its detection, treatment and evolution, research into the epidemiology of emerging viral diseases, and our coverage of current events. The articles will remain free to access for as long as the outbreak remains a public health emergency of international concern.

The COVID Tracking Project

The COVID Tracking Project collects information from 50 US states, the District of Columbia, and 5 other US territories to provide the most comprehensive testing data we can collect for the novel coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2. We attempt to include positive and negative results, pending tests, and total people tested for each state or district currently reporting that data.

Public Health England

Finding the evidence: Coronavirus

PHE Knowledge and Library Services team (KLS) has produced this page to help those, working on the current coronavirus outbreak, embed evidence-informed decision-making in their daily practice.

Institutes for Health Metrics and Evaluation

IHME’s COVID-19 projections show demand for hospital services in each state. The demand for these services is expected to exceed capacity. 

New England Journal of Medicine-Coronavirus

The New England Journal of Medicine has added a topics page on Coronavirus (COVID-19). This is a collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.

They've also added a page to the NEJM Journal Watch, which covers the latest information on COVID-19 spanning the medical literature.

medRxiv Research

medRxiv is a preprint service for health sciences.

  • Please note that preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information

We recommend using:  (wuhan OR nCov OR "COVID-19" OR "SARS-2-Cov") to search medRxiv for information on COVID-19

CEBM

The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine develops, promotes and disseminates better evidence for healthcare.

Oxford COVID-19 Evidence Service

The CEBM has committed its skills and expertise in evidence synthesis and dissemination to the effort against the current COVID-19 pandemic. This page will be updated regularly:

MLA COVID-19 Resources

COVID-19 Resources for Medical Librarians &
Other Health Information Professionals

Last updated 3/25/2020 2:00 p.m. CT

Edited and selected by Jess L. Callaway, Angela Spencer, AHIP, and Ellen M. Aaronson, AHIP

U.S. Government Resources | World Health Organization | Clinical Resources and Guides | Data, Research, Article Collections, Systematic Reviews | Journal, Publisher, Society Resource Sites | Public Health Portals and Sites

This curated list will be updated as frequently as possible and has been created from crowd-sourced suggestions from MLA members and other health information professionals on the front lines of providing information during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is not intended to be an exhaustive list, as many librarians have already created excellent resource guides for their institutions and patients.

Many journals and publishers are making COVID-19 resources and articles freely available.

All links below open in a new tab or window. You may also submit a new resource for consideration.

Government Documents

HeinOnline provides 281,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. It also includes the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations.