How do I log into Library resources from off campus?
If you are off campus, enter your network username and password. This is the same username and password associated with your KCU email account.
How do I renew my books?
You must renew your items before they are overdue. You may renew an item as many times as you want, as long as no one else has placed a hold on it.
Can I place a hold online?
Yes. You may place holds on library items from on or off campus. Find the item in our catalog, then click on the “Request” button below the title. You will be prompted to log in with your name and your Unique Campus ID. (See explanation for “What is my Unique Campus ID?” below.) You will be notified by email when your requested item is available. Holds may be picked up at the Access Services Desk.
Library staff can also place holds for you. You may contact us at 816-654-7260 (Kansas City campus), 417-208-0686 (Joplin campus), firstname.lastname@example.org (Kansas City campus, DawsonLibrary@kansascity.edu (Joplin campus), online chat, or in person at the Access Services Desk.
What is my "Unique Campus ID"?
You will need your unique campus ID to log into your library account and view your checkouts, place holds and renew items.
If you are a student, your unique campus ID is the barcode on your ID badge, followed by “kcu”. For example, if the ID on your badge is S000001, then your unique campus ID is S000001kcu.
If you are a staff or faculty member and you do not know your unique campus ID, please call or email the library.
What are your hours?
For our 2021 summer hours, click here. Starting July 26, library hours will be 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, Monday through Friday and 9:00 am to 11:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday.
How many books can I check out? How many flash card sets can I check out?
There is no limit to the number of items you can borrow from the library.
How much are fines?
The KCU Libraries do not charge fines or late fees.
How long can I keep my books?
For students, library materials are due 21 days after you check them out. If the due date falls on a day the library is not open, the materials will be due the next working day.
Staff and faculty members may keep the items they check out until June 1 of each academic year, but they are subject to recall.
Can I borrow textbooks?
The library keeps a copy of each textbook assigned to courses in the current semester. These are located on the reserve shelf behind the Access Services Desk. Books on reserve may be checked out for up to two hours and must stay inside the library.
The library also owns e-book versions of many of your required textbooks. You can find them by searching the A-Z E-Book List or the Library Catalog. They are also hyperlinked on the Required Textbooks lists.
What should I do if I lose a library book?
Please see the Library Policies for our rules on lost and damaged items, and contact library staff if you have questions.
How do I print from the WEPA kiosks?
Instructions for using the WEPA kiosk printers can be found on the Intranet at the IT webpage.
How do I access or use apps for Library databases on my iPad or smartphone?
Check out our guide, Apps for KCU Devices, to find instructions for the Clinical Key, Access Medicine, Clinical Pharmacology, DynaMed Plus, VisualDx and UpToDate mobile apps. If you need more help, please contact the library, at 816-654-7260 (Kansas City campus), 417-208-0686 (Joplin campus), email@example.com (Kansas City campus), DawsonLibrary@kansascity.edu (Joplin campus), or Chat.
How do I get the full text of an article I need?
If you have a citation for an article, you can check the E-Journals list to see if we subscribe to the online edition. Search by title and click on the link to the journal’s website. Contact the Library if you have any problems accessing the full text of an article from one of these journals.
If you need an article from a journal that we do not subscribe to, we may be able to obtain a copy for you through Interlibrary Loan. Please see our Interlibrary Loan page for more information.
If you do not have a specific article, but need to find an article on a certain subject, begin a search in either PubMed or Ovid. Not all of the results retrieved from a search in these databases will be full text. When using PubMed you should look for the KCU full text button (purple boxes) that indicate the KCU full text or print collection. For Ovid, begin by choosing “YourJournals@Ovid” as this will restrict your search to full text journals the Library subscribes to.
You can also search for articles in a variety of other full-text Databases, including Clinical Key, ScienceDirect, Academic Search Elite and BioMed Central.
If you need help finding or accessing an article, please ask the Library staff for assistance.
Why can't I get an article to download?
If a journal link will not load, try a different browser and/or clear your cache.
Sometimes PDF pages won’t load because you're using an older version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Check what version you have installed on your computer and what version the journal requires for its PDF documents.
If you are still having difficulty, please ask the Library staff for assistance.