Circulation Policies - Faculty
Circulation Policies - Residents
Circulation Policies - Staff
Circulation Policies - Students
Collection Development Policy
Collection development involves the planned identification and review of materials best suited to strengthen the library resources for education, teaching, learning, research, patient care and administration. Regardless of format, selection criteria are the same:
Conference Room Policy
Students are not given access to the D'Angelo Library's conference room unless there is an urgent need. This would require approval from a staff member. The conference room is reserved for KCU faculty, student interviews and staff meetings.
The conference table seats seven people. The room is equipped with an Apple TV, DVD/Blu-ray player, laptop computer and a conference call phone.
Faculty and staff members may contact the D'Angelo Library by telephone (816) 654-7260 or email (firstname.lastname@example.org) to inquire about reserving or using the conference room.
Deselection Policy (Weeding)
Collection management is usually perceived as an activity that only adds new materials to a library. Collection management is also undertaken to maximize the usefulness of a library’s collection to its users. For the purpose of this policy statement, weeding is defined as the removal of items from the library’s active collection. Weeding is an important part of the management of collections. Deselection, or weeding, is the careful elimination from the collection of unwanted or unnecessary materials that accumulate over time. This is accomplished not only to conserve valuable space, but more importantly to increase the value or usefulness of the collection. A collection is difficult to use when one must sift through large amounts of irrelevant, outdated materials.
The professional library staff members have the primary responsibility for weeding activities. Other faculty and staff may be called upon to serve as consultants when necessary. All deselection/weeding will be accomplished according to the criteria listed below and with thought to preservation of the historical records of the practice of medicine.
Criteria that will be used for deselection/weeding:
Desk Copy Policy
Faculty members may request a gratis desk copy of a textbook that is required for a course the faculty member is teaching.
Desk copy requests must include the following information:
The library welcomes appropriate donations. Potential donors are asked to contact the library before delivering materials. This allows us to ascertain the suitability of the proposed donations and offer alternatives if the materials are not suitable for our collection. The library accepts donations that enhance the existing collection in ways consistent with our collecting guidelines. This means that we will accept donations as long as:
Materials presented to the library as donations may be added to the collection if they fit within the above guidelines, or they may be offered to the library's clientele without charge, or discarded. Library staff will make the final decision on the disposition of donations. The library reserves the right to handle all donations as it sees fit and to refuse or discard materials that do not fit within the above guidelines or meet the current needs of the collection.
Food and Drink Policy
Thank you for your assistance in keeping your library clean and attractive.
Interlibrary Loan Policy
Interlibrary Loan is used to obtain materials for KCU teaching, study and research initiatives which are not available from our library but are available from other libraries. Interlibrary Loan service augments our local holdings by providing access to other national and international collections. This service is available to those associated with KCU without charge.
To request an item through Interlibrary Loan, please:
The library will lend materials to other libraries that participate in OCLC, DOCLINE or other KCU lending consortia. Lending fees are applied for the lending of items to libraries that we do not have reciprocal agreements with or that are not a part of our consortia. The borrowing library is responsible for KCU materials and will be charged replacement fees if items are lost or damaged.
KCU Libraries seek to provide all users with a welcoming, comfortable, and safe environment promoting quiet study without interruption. The following policy is intended to ensure a productive environment for all of our library users.
Library users are asked to abide by the following guidelines:
Excessive noise or any disruptive activity or behavior interfering with ordinary library use or operation is not permitted. Out of respect for other patrons, please set cell phones and other electronic devices to silent or vibrate mode.
Quiet study (with quiet conversation) is permitted on the D'Angelo Library's first floor and in the group study rooms on both floors. Please keep study room doors closed and conversation at a respectful volume.
D'Angelo Library's second floor is designated for silent study.
To report a noise disturbance, contact a library staff member at the front desk or by e-mail. Library chat can also be used to report a noise disturbance. Front desk staff has earplugs and headphones available.
The responsibility to build collections carries with it the obligation to ensure that these collections are always accessible. The D’Angelo Library is committed to the preservation of its collections by taking action to:
The comprehensive approach to preservation entails choosing the most appropriate method of preservation for every item. This is accomplished through proper conditions:
There are many materials whose value lies primarily, or only, in the information they contain. When repair of such materials becomes impossible or prohibitively expensive, their content may be preserved through reformatting into other media. The indefinite storage of unusable materials within the library cannot be justified.
Preservation decisions for materials in the collections are best determined by the library staff in consultation with faculty when necessary. Preservation decisions must always be made within the context of overall collection policy, balancing the constraints of historical, aesthetic, and scholarly value, cost and user accessibility.
Study Room Policy
The D'Angelo Library's five study rooms may be used by individual students or by small groups. Students must reserve a study room by signing up at the Access Services Desk. Each study room can be reserved for up to four hours. If a student reserves a study room and fails to show up within the first 15 minutes of their allotted time, the room may be assigned to someone else. Tutors may reserve study rooms by telephone (816-654-7260) or email (email@example.com) up to a week in advance. Other students can reserve study rooms only for the current day.
The study rooms can seat up to eight people, depending on the room. Each room contains:
Telephone, Cell Phone, and Fax Policies
There are telephones available throughout the library. All phones allow users to make local calls or calls to other KCU extensions. These phones cannot receive direct calls. We encourage users to be considerate of others by keeping their voices low and limiting their calls to five minutes.
The library is intended to be a quiet place to read and study without interruption. Out of respect for other patrons, please set cell phones, pagers and other electronic devices to silent or vibrate mode. Please step outside of the library if you need to place or answer a call.
The fax machine located on the first floor of the D'Angelo Library is available for students to use without charge. It can be used for local as well as for long distance business. Library staff members can assist in the use of the fax machine, but do not monitor incoming faxes. Library staff members do not fax materials for students except when the student fax machine is not working correctly.